Terminal Terms of Service

There has been lots of bad news lately, a bummer of a week to say the least.  Of all the planetary dysfunction, the hot topic in photo land is the shocking new “terms of service” from the folks at Instagram, or whomever is at the helm over there at the moment.  It’s more than a social network scandal, it’s a downright invasion of our rights as photographers, an assault on our images.  And so there has been a great uprising, my twitter feed has many a disdainful departure notice. #deletemyaccount and the obligatory black screen shot ,not to mention the  “terms of service’ screenshot. BTW, I’m starting to hate screen shots, even my own.  Yes, I’ve read the small print and the big print and call me unprincipled, but I don’t really care. To me Instagram is a novelty, and I still love it for it’s social component, and for the motivation it provides me to use my REAL CAMERA.  I don’t think anyone anticipated that some actual photographers could make something special from a phone, so really it’s you guys who have made the problem by being talented.

If Big Brother wants my photos that’s fine by me, if there was a way I could know about, that would be nice, do I deserve compensation?  Am I taking away from the livelihood of real photographers? Is Chevron really going to use my Golden Gate Bridge photo?  Lots of questions.  Folks you have signed up for a image sharing site that includes the likes of Jamie Oliver and Shaq, so I am a bit surprised that so many people are bailing out so quickly.

God Bless Flickr for the most brilliant launch timing in history, a great new app filled with all kinds of protections against the evils of corporate piracy.  Flickr, remember those guys?  So, I get the reason behind all the fuss, and it appears the voices are being heard, but I think we need to take a #chillpill before deleting all the fun.  I would miss the fun, and these days it’s about all we got left.

dh

baby please don't go

baby please don’t go

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Terminal Terms of Service

  1. rubin110 says:

    Bravo. You read my mind and turned it into a blog post so I don’t have to now.

  2. Doc Pop says:

    Bummed to see people acting so dramatically about it. Especially the folks who are nuking their accounts. It always sucks when the web get’s a bunch of broken links added out there.

    … but yeah, Flickr is way better. Both as a company and a product. Happy to see people coming back.

  3. Pam says:

    i’ve read to most updated version of the TOS and there is only one issue that still bothers me. it’s #1 under rights, about “grant to Instagram a non-exclusive, fully paid and royalty-free, transferable, sub-licensable, worldwide license to use the Content that you post on or through the Service, subject to the Service’s Privacy Policy, available here http://instagram.com/legal/privacy/, including but not limited to sections 3 (“Sharing of Your Information”), 4 (“How We Store Your Information”), and 5 (“Your Choices About Your Information”). You can choose who can view your Content and activities, including your photos, as described in the Privacy Policy.” i think the one thing i like about flickr and streamzoo is that our content is our content. period. they don’t ask us to give them a ‘license’ of any sort. they also are serious about any copyright violations if you feel one is being perpetrated on you. i think that if instagram wants to keep people around, they need to explain this one even further. most people don’t know this terminology. it will be interesting if this evolves any further. i think, as it stands, i’ll probably be switching to an alternative soon. btw flickr is giving away 3 mos free to it’s pro service…which is cool, and i can check to see if i want to purchase it for a year.

Leave a Reply

