I’m Sorry, But I’m A Camera Addict

Good morning, and thank you for joining me. Many of you are my friends. Many of you know me. Many of you have cheered for me or you’ve worked with me or you’ve supported me.

Now every one of you has good reason to be critical of me. I want to say to each of you, simply and directly, I am deeply sorry for my irresponsible and selfish behavior I engaged in.  I have a problem, I’m addicted to taking photos…………..I thought because I own a photo lab that rules did not apply to me, that I could load up on cameras and film, and 16g SD cards and run around town like a maniac shooting everything in sight.  It started innocently enough on a drive home from work.  I could not resist that hot sunset, and the next thing I knew I was lying to my wife.  “Honey, I need to work late.”  When I was actually up at Twin Peaks admiring her beauty.

I have a lot to atone for, but there is one issue I really want to discuss. Some people have speculated that my loving wife attacked me on Thanksgiving by hurling a 300mm lens through my windshield.  I want to make it clear that there has never been any camera violence in our marriage.  I was merely unfaithful, I thought I could hand hold at 1/8 of a second, I was arrogant, pushing film 4 and 5 stops.  About the time I started cross processing sheet film, I knew I would soon be caught.

The last 45 days, I have not taken one photo.  I no longer feel the need to hide cameras in my trunk.  I have buried my secret stash of pinhole cameras.

I recognize I have brought this on myself, and I know above all I am the one who needs to change. I owe it to my family to become a better person. I owe it to those closest to me to become a better man. That’s where my” focus” will be.

Thanks For Listening.

dh 2/19/2010

4 thoughts on “I’m Sorry, But I’m A Camera Addict

  1. Paul says:

    You haven’t changed my opinion. Once a liar always a liar. I know you’re still jonesing for clack of a mechanical shutter.

  2. sammy owen says:

    Hi Photo Works,

    I recently just moved to SF, and therefore today was my first time dropping by to drop of some b&w for processing and scanning since I don’t have my scanner hooked up yet. Lovely store, friendly people, great prices, and I love this blog, hilarious!

    Just wanted to drop in and say that I’m looking forward to being your customer.

    Sammy

  3. Ha! That was hilarious! Nice to know not all your posts are written with an annoyed tone 🙂

Leave a Reply

