Photos With Santa

I was over at Serramonte Mall the other day, a God forsaken pit of a shopping mall, but it’s the closest thing to my house so I’m stuck with it.  Anyway, I was with my kid so we checked out the whole pose with Santa program.  Sit on Santa’s lap, take a picture, and then buy the obligatory print package of say, 4 wallets and a 5×7.  When did 4 wallets and a 5×7 become a $20.00 item?  Maybe if that was the real Kris Kringle, but this Santa wasn’t even fat.  He was some skinny ass hippy from Daly City.  And, the photos are not even on real photo paper.  They are printed on a xerox photo printer by some 16 year old kid.  Sorry Son, we’ll have to skip this.  Can I buy you an ice cream cone instead?

This got me to thinking about a story my dad once told me about his first job.  He was 15 years old, this would have been about 1940.  He worked as a photographer for a company called Kidnappers.  He would go door to door with a camera and lights offering to photograph children.  He would take the pictures and then stay up all night developing the film and making contact sheets.  He would deliver the proofs to the houses the next day and take print orders for 8×10’s, etc…People would serve him coffee and cake while they made their selections.

Can you imagine trying to get in someone’s door nowadays with a camera, wanting to photograph children?  You would need 5 forms of ID and you’d still wouldn’t get through the door.  I wonder what would happen if I brought Santa door to door, offering that same service, but inside the comfort of your own home?  Not that lousy shopping mall Santa either…………..HO HO HO.

dh

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Photos With Santa

  1. Grace says:

    LOL. Literally. Hahaha I feel a bit bad for your kid, even though it sounds like a total ripoff.

  2. ah yng says:

    I can settle with instant polaroid of $5 per picture with real fat santa; what a rip off for $20 and skinny santa photos. 😛

  3. Nana says:

    If you’re going suburban there’s a better lookin Santa at Tanforan – check it out, buy the disk and print them on better paper.

  4. xPCFCAn says:

    You’re right about Serramonte being a pit. Hillsdale and its Santa are a little nicer, and they don’t seem to mind me stepping in and taking my own pictures … the fat man’s lap is free, the crappy prints are optional.

  5. A.Mart says:

    Wait a second, the company was called KIDNAPPERS?

  6. Jessica says:

    That is the best first job story I have ever heard.

Leave a Reply

