Ambien(t) Photography

You know I’m running out of things to say now.  Hey, it’s hard to keep this blog fresh and not sounding like a status update. If you don’t want the gory details, stop reading now………Without getting too personal here’s some brief medical history.  SOMETIMES I CAN’T SLEEP.  When this happens I on occasion take Ambien to break the spell.  Why am I telling you this?

Because, it’s really messing with my photos.  Last Saturday morning I had planned a quick photo outing down the coast to Montara beach.  The surf was up and I had an idea or two I wanted to try.  The problem was that I had this horrid Ambien still in my system from the night before.  So I’m standing on the beach with the rollei trying to focus, trying to keep the camera straight.  I thought I was doing a great job, I told my friend that “I really nailed it.”

On Monday I processed the film and boy was I surprised.  First off I thought I shot color extar 100, but instead I loaded 400 speed slide film.  Hell, I was using the wrong camera, my holga by mistake.   Everything wound up overexposed, and it’s hard to believe I even went to the beach at all.

The scary part of this is that when I look at these images, I feel like I’m seeing the inside of my brain that particular day.  I’m not sure what this has to do with ambient light, but the “available light” that I shot that day is more a mirror of  my brain, rather than a simple sunny day at the beach.  Okay, Julia, you can throw up now.

Here are the photos, and from now on I’m switching to warm milk or sleepytime tea before bedtime. 

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “Ambien(t) Photography

  1. goblinbox says:

    The sentence, “Everything wound up overexposed, and it’s hard to believe I even went to the beach at all.” made me LOL.

    My fave Ayurvedic sleep thing: make a mug of hot milk with a pinch of cardamom and/or cinnamon in it, float a wee bit of ghee (clarified butter) on top, drink, GO STRAIGHT TO BED. Ideally before ten.

    I know, but it works for me.

  2. HolgaJen says:

    I think you’re right – you must have some how captured how your mind was feeling at the time because these are very dreamy photos. I love the second one!

  3. Miikka says:

    Doesn’t sound like the best outing ever. But I actually like the 2nd image a lot 😉

  4. missmobtown says:

    I’ve heard similar stories about Ambien — one friend purchased an airline ticket to the east coast and then had not recollection of doing so the next day. Careful with that stuff!

    2nding the warm milk solution, though my formula includes a teaspoon of honey. Sleep tight!

    CG

Leave a Reply

