I’m Running Out of Bullshit

In the great 1976 film Network, Peter Finch plays the newsman Howard Beale.  He’s famous for screaming, “I’m mad as hell and I’m not going to take it anymore.”   When he’s questioned about his rants he calmly states, “I’ve just run out of bullshit.”

If you have a  business in this day and age you had better be good at networking.  I’ve tried to throw myself into Facebook, Twitter, Flickr, and blogging.  I’ll do anything to draw traffic to my website, but I’m starting to run out of things to say.  I barely use the photoworkssf Facebook page.  Some companies probably have full time people doing constant status updates, yet the tweets from so many small businesses have such desperation to them.  Honestly I’m not sure I give a crap about 90% of the people I’m “following.”

I think I’m over saturated, and in a way what I’ve done is keep people from coming here and talking to me face to face.  Too bad, because what I’m good at is retail.  If you come in, you’ll leave here with something.

So, I might take a little break, back off on the social networking stuff (temporarily) because I am “running out of bullshit,” and I don’t want to start sounding redundant.  When I have something to say that’s worth hearing, then you’ll hear from me.  Until then, look for me outside on Market St ringing a bell, wearing a sandwich board.

dh

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “I’m Running Out of Bullshit

  1. goblinbox says:

    Consider asking Photo.net members to run your social networking outlets for you – give them their memberships for free for compensation. Whoever runs your Twitter account can post links to interesting photos, discussions, and articles. Ditto the FB person. Some folks are really into it, and would probably love to do it. Having a dead social networking outlet is probably worse than not having one at all, because top-of-mind brand placement is everything.

    • photoworks says:

      Thanks for the suggestion, I have people here that can run the networking. I just like to speak for myself, as no one knows my business like I do. I’m not really bailing out, just being a little cranky.

      Cheers!

  2. Jason Keefer says:

    Well said. I’m in the same boat. Luckily, my wife blogs, FBs, and tweets like a fiend. I feel she speaks for the two of us.

    Thank you for the beautiful prints.
    Jason

  3. Danielle says:

    I know how that feels too – I just started my blog earlier this year and have dived head-on into the social media sphere that sometimes I feel like I’m running on empty. I find that going Twitter-less now and then helps alot. Hope you feel better!

  4. David Howe says:

    Well, don’t bag out now, because I just sent you a whole ton of questions I hope you can answer! And I like your work and your approach to film! As an aside, my creative sis forces herself to take a photo a day and she posts them at twoeyeworkshop.wordpress.com. I think it help focus the social networking for her, and she is getting to be a better photographer! (If you go there, she is mollyavalon)

Leave a Reply

