Young People Don’t know Anything

“Young people don’t know anything, especially that they’re young.”  Don Draper from Mad Men.  Don might be right, but recently I encountered a refreshing group of High School photography students.  They came to Photoworks because they heard we were a film shop.  “You guys do film, that’s cool.”  These students are taking a class that requires film photography cameras and they seem to be thrilled by the concept.  They are into Holgas and medium format as well.  I was stunned thinking that anyone under 25 would have the slightest interest in analogue.  Seeing as they are entrenched in the Iphone, You Tube, digital overload generation, it’s amazing that they found film.  I’m pleased by this development, and I now feel that there is hope for the future.

dh

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Young People Don’t know Anything

  1. Audrey says:

    In the past year, I’ve watched many friends who haven’t shot film in years dust off their film cameras or purchase old SLRs. It’s satisfying to see this, and also to know that I helped encourage it all.

  2. Grace says:

    I’ve just graduated high school and I must report that a good majority of my friends are totally into analogue cameras. Medium format, 35 mm, and instant as well. I got into film photography because I decided to take a b/w class requiring film. Oh before that, I just really wanted to use a Diana camera so I’ve used medium for a bit longer. My film history!

    You should update more often in any case.

  3. Leiflet says:

    like a lot of folks i have thousands of dollars wrapped up in digital gear.
    that said, I just bought a Diana F+ and am in love with the simplicity.
    I love the “Don’t think, just shoot” mentality.
    I think it might be time to pull my old pentax manual focus 35mm body out of storage.

Leave a Reply

