A Waste of Film, Gunpowder, and Sky

NoFumarHappy 4th of July Everyone from your curmudgon photo lab guy.  Is it so wrong to hate fireworks?  They scare the shit out my dog, wake up the baby, and make juvenile delinquents out of otherwise normal teenagers.  Actually, I don’t mind a legit fireworks show, it’s the blockheads in my neighborhood who do the backyard Budweiser fueled explosions that I hate.

Has anyone out there ever taken a good picture of a fireworks show? I know what you are supposed to do:  tripod, long exposure, slow film, etc…, but it never works for me, and even if does, it never does justice to the moment.  TV can’t even do the job. And has anyone ever done  anything with a fireworks photo?  Do you look at them in March?  I find the best photos of a fireworks show are before the actual show.  The shots of everyone standing around the grill are always keepers.  Or if you must, shoot a photo of everyone looking up to the sky, that might be cool, though you’d miss all the action.

Hey, so have fun out there, just please don’t wake the baby.

I can’t wait to tell you what I think of Halloween……..

dh

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on “A Waste of Film, Gunpowder, and Sky

  1. Anony says:

    Cheer the fuck up.

  2. aswirly says:

    You are so right. And I hate how they set off everyone’s car alarms too. grrrr…lol. I tried to get shots of the illegal fireworks going off in the neighborhood last year, but there was so much Pacifica fog. We’ll see what happens this year.

  3. Erica says:

    They can be festive, but I agree, photos of them are a waste. Plus, we have a lot of great urban wildlife here… all kinds of birds… and the fireworks terrify the birds. Almost as bad as the Blue Angels… don’t get me started on that… :/

Leave a Reply

