Polaroid: I Finally Get It

Even before Polaroid decided to stop making film, there were legions of photographers addicted to this uniquely classic art form. I say art, but we all know Polaroid was not born with art in mind, or was it? I believe these cameras go back to the late 1940’s. They blossomed in the fifties and sixties becoming the camera of choice for many families. You can tell I’m no expert on this subject, and until recently I had never even owned a Polaroid camera. I bought an SX 70 because it looked so cool. Been doing snap shots with it because as of yet, I can’t figure out how to make decent art with the thing. I’m going to keep at though, because I want to get involved before it’s too late.

We sell the film in our store. It’s expensive now, but people buy it up like it’s going out of style. Oh yeah, it’s going out of style. When we decided to do a Polaroid show at Photoworks, the response was amazing. And these are just the more conventional style which does not include transfers, and all the other manipulations, etc.. I’ve never really understood the whole, big deal deal with Polaroid, but now I’m comin’ around. I don”t have to tell you that the combination of instant and analogue is a beautiful thing indeed.

It looks like Polaroid is being saved by cool companies like Polapremium, and even Fuji is making instant film now. Come by Photoworks tomorrow night (Friday May 8th) and see the show, be a supporter of a treasured art form, and maybe show me a thing or two about using my camera.Untitled-7

Tagged ,

6 thoughts on “Polaroid: I Finally Get It

  1. Leah says:

    I have been devastated by the recent loss of Polaroid. I am the nerd who has been wearing my Save Polaroid t-shirt all over town for the last year. This last weekend I shot with the new Fuji Instax instant camera and really loved it! It gave me a sense of hope. I would love to send you the photos if you shoot me an email!

  2. Hi,
    I am looking for an album for polaroids, do they exist? I am producing a project based on polaroids and I needed an album, what do you suggest me to get/go/do?
    thanks
    apo

  3. Ashley says:

    I wanted to share with you a Polaroid artist I recently stumbled upon: http://sxseventy.com/sxseventy/Home.html

  4. David Howe says:

    Holy cow, I didn’t know! I have a Polaroid back for my 5×7 camera, is there any hope? (that danged guy and his dadburned questions again!)

Leave a Reply

